Category: Alabama

Sort

showing 1-20 of 35

Image for Photograph - Cast of Clint Bonner's Oddities - Variety Show

Photograph - Cast of Clint Bonner's Oddities - Variety Show

By: (Bonner, Clint)

Price: $25.00

Publisher: Birmingham, Clint Bonner: 1938

Seller ID: 15791


This large (13X10 1/2) photograph is in VG to VG+ conditionwith some edge corner and surface wear along with light aging. Please see our photograph. The photo is of the cast of Clint Bonner's Oddities a Variety Show made up of Alabama entertainers, organized into a Vaudeville stage show. All the cast members, except for one are identified in in, those are not autographs since they are all in the same hand. Those depicted are: Hal Johnsonm a Birmingham radio personality a... View more info

Image for Theophilus Walton or, the Majesty of Truth A Reply to Theodosia Ernest

Theophilus Walton or, the Majesty of Truth A Reply to Theodosia Ernest

By: (Harrison, William Pope) A Member Of The Alabama Conference

Price: $15.00

Publisher: Nashville, Publishing House of the M. E. Church, South: 1904

Seller ID: 9935


Gray cloth with faded gilt titles on spine. Some edge, corner and surface wear with boards showing at corners. Wear at spine ends. Former owner's name in pencil on ffep. Book is square and binding secure. ; 12mo 7" - 7½" tall; 408 pages; Theodosia Ernest gets her just comeuppance concerning at which end the egg should be cracked. Originally published in 1858. Harrison was a Georgian serving in the Alabama Conference when he wrote this book dealing with a Baptis... View more info

Image for Crawdad Hole

Crawdad Hole

By: Babston, Ray

Price: $25.00

Publisher: Montgomery, Red Clay Press: 1997

Edition: First Edition

Inscription: Signed by Author

Seller ID: 6098


Corners slightly bumped, DJ has slight loss of gloss. ; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 128 pages; Based on the author's experiences on his father's farm during the Depression. Included is a page of music and lyrics for The Crawdad Song, stamped Not For Sale. ; Signed by Author View more info

The Flush Times in Alabama and Mississippi

By: Baldwin, Joseph G.

Price: $30.00

Publisher: Americus, Americus Book Company: 1910

Edition: Reprint

Seller ID: 14633


Light, general edge, corner and surface wear along with light aging. Square and securely bound. This book is not dated, so 1910 is a guess. (There is an inscription dated 1928, but I have seen dates as early as 1914 in copies.) The Americus Book Company was an antiquarian book store in Americus, Georgia that occasionally published new editions of older works. The Flush Times, a series of sketches of frontier days in the old Southwest, was first published in 1853. The boo... View more info

Image for The Art of Fiction in the Heart of Dixie:  An Anthology of Alabama Writers

The Art of Fiction in the Heart of Dixie: An Anthology of Alabama Writers

By: Beidler, Philip D.

Price: $20.00

Publisher: University, AL, University of Alabama Press: 1986

Edition: First Edition; First Printing

Seller ID: 6092


Book and jacket are about new with no flaws beyond very light shelf wear. ; Large 8vo 9" - 10" tall; 335 pages; This is an anthology that "represents a sampling of the best works of fiction about Alabama from the 1840's to (1986) by authors who were either native-born or have revealed some distinct affiliation with the state. " View more info

Image for The Poet of Tolstoy Park

The Poet of Tolstoy Park

By: Brewer, Sonny

Price: $30.00

Publisher: New York, Ballentine Books: 2005

Edition: 1st Edition, Stated; First Printing

Seller ID: 10322


Book and jacket are new and unread. ; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 254 pages View more info

Image for The Relation of the Alabama-Georgia Dialect to the Provincial Dialects of Great Britain

The Relation of the Alabama-Georgia Dialect to the Provincial Dialects of Great Britain

By: Brooks, Cleanth, Jr.

Price: $75.00

Publisher: Baton Rouge, Louisiana State University Press: 1935

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 5948


Light wear to edges of boards and spine, few small spots. ; Louisiana State University Studies; tall 8vo 9" - 10" tall; 89 pages; This is Cleanth Brooks' first book. View more info

Image for Southern Humor! This Book is Full of It!

Southern Humor! This Book is Full of It!

By: Cooley, Billy Joe

Price: $15.00

Publisher: Huntsville, AL, Self-Published: 1997

Edition: First Edition; First Printing

Inscription: Signed by Author

Seller ID: 6096


Very light shelf wear, front cover slightly curled on fore edge. ; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 155 pages; Signed and inscribed by author on ffep. Clean, Southern humor, or so the title says. sold Amazon 8.30.16; Signed by Author View more info

Image for View from the Hilltop The First 125 Years of Birmingham-Southern College

View from the Hilltop The First 125 Years of Birmingham-Southern College

By: Corley, Robert G. and Samuel N. Stayer (ed. Donald Brown)

Price: $25.00

Publisher: Birmingham, Birmingham-Southern College: 1981

Edition: First Edition; First Printing

Seller ID: 9874


Black covers with gilt lettering. Book is square and securely bound with almost no wear. Some toning on foredges . Jacket has very light edge and corner wear. ; B&W Photographs; 4to 11" - 13" tall; 150 pages; History of Birmingham-Southern. View more info

Image for Night Ride Home

Night Ride Home

By: Covington, Vicki

Price: $20.00

Publisher: New York, Simon & Schuster: 1992

Edition: First Edition; First Printing

Inscription: Signed by Author

Seller ID: 11769


Book and jacket are unused. Some pages unopened. ; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 254 pages; Former wife of Dennis Covington, Salvation on Sand Mountain. ; Signed by Author View more info

Image for A Parting Gift

A Parting Gift

By: Erickson, Ben

Price: $20.00

Publisher: New York, Warner Books: 2000

Edition: 1st Edition, Stated; First Printing

Inscription: Signed by Author

Seller ID: 9922


Book and jacket have only light shelf wear and aging. ; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 274 pages; Signed, inscribed (To Eleanor) and dated (2000) on title page. Alabama author's first book. ; Signed by Author View more info

Image for Scottsboro

Scottsboro

By: Feldman, Ellen

Price: $20.00

Publisher: New York, Norton: 2008

Edition: 1st Edition, Stated; First Printing

Seller ID: 7987


Book is New and unread. Jacket is also new but has had a bump at some time to top edge that has caused a couple of small, minor creases. ; Large 8vo 9" - 10" tall; 363 pages; Novelized account of the famous Scotts Boys case from Scottsboro Alabama. View more info

Image for Hell At the Breech

Hell At the Breech

By: Franklin, Tom

Price: $20.00

Publisher: New York, Harpercollins / Perennial: 2003

Edition: Uncorrected Proof

Seller ID: 11603


Book appears to be new and unread with some light shelf wear at some corners. ; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 318 pages; Uncorrected proof of Franklin's first novel. View more info

Image for Letters from Alabama, (U. S. ) Chiefly Relating to Natural History : An Annotated Edition

Letters from Alabama, (U. S. ) Chiefly Relating to Natural History : An Annotated Edition

By: Gosse, Philip Henry

Price: $15.00

Publisher: Tuscaloosa, University of Alabama Press: 1993

Edition: Annotated Edition

Seller ID: 12859


Pictorial wraps with black titles. Light wear with diagonal crease on bottom right front corner. ; B&W Drawings; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 324 pages; Annotated reprint of pre-Civil War account of the people and natural history of Alabama by a distinguished British illustrator who chanced to find himself in rural Alabama before he achieved notoriety and fame. Very interesting book. View more info

You Always Think of Home : A Portrait of Clay County, Alabama

By: Grundy, Pamela

Price: $25.00

Publisher: Athens, University of Georgia Press: 1991

Edition: First Edition; First Printing

Seller ID: 14818


Both book and jacket have almost no wear. This was a review copy and publisher's material is laid in. In this material is very nice 5X7, B&W, publisher's photograph of the cover photo. The book is a kind of oral history of the region and culture of rural Clay County, Alabama. The residents, black and white, speak for themselves and about what is important to them. A blurb on the jacket says the book is in the tradition of James Agee and Walker Evans. ; B&W Photographs;... View more info

Image for The Ballad of Little River:  A Tale of Race and Restless Youth in the Rural South

The Ballad of Little River: A Tale of Race and Restless Youth in the Rural South

By: Hemphill, Paul

Price: $15.00

Publisher: New York City, The Free Press: 2000

Edition: First Edition; First Printing

Seller ID: 6097


Hemphill moved to the community of Little River, AL following several incidents of racial violence in 1997 to write this book. ; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 235 pages; Novel about a church arson and other violence in Alabama in the 1990's. View more info

Image for Alias Simon Suggs The Life and Times of Johnson Jones Hooper

Alias Simon Suggs The Life and Times of Johnson Jones Hooper

By: Hoole, W. Stanley

Price: $30.00

Publisher: Tuscaloosa, University of Alabama Press: 1952

Edition: First Edition; First Printing

Seller ID: 7099


The book has only light wear and aging. The dustjacket has some corner and sedge wear with two very small chips. ; B&W Illustration of Hooper; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 283 pages; The only full biography of Johnson Jones Hooper, one of the old Southwest humorists from Alabama. Hooper and others of this group were influences on Twain. Simon Suggs was Hooper's most famous fictional character. View more info

Image for Adventures of Captain Simon Suggs

Adventures of Captain Simon Suggs

By: Hooper, Johnson Jones

Price: $10.00

Publisher: Tuscaloosa, University of Alabama Press: 1993

Edition: First Edition Thus

Seller ID: 7014


The book appears to be unread but has a diagonal crease on the back front rear corner along with light soiling on bottom foredge. The spine is uncreased; The Library of Alabama Classics; B&W Drawings; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 201 pages; This is a softcover, facsimile edition of Hooper's classic of Old Southwest humor. The story of Simon Suggs, whose mother tells him, "It is good to be shifty in a new country, " is still funny today. There is a very informative ... View more info

Image for The Alabama Historical Quarterly Summer, 1976

The Alabama Historical Quarterly Summer, 1976

By: Howard, Milo B., Jr. (ed.)

Price: $10.00

Publisher: Montgomery, Alabama State Department of Archives and History: 1976

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 15434


tan wraps with black titles. Some minor wear at corners. Still square and securely bound, a nearly fine copy. This issue features articles on Simon Suggs, Florence University for Women, the Eufaula riots during reconstruction, and a history of Republican attempts to break the Democratic Party hold on the South which focusses on Julian Harris (the son of Joel Chandler Harris) and his work for better race relations in the South. There are several other articles as well. ; ... View more info

Image for Monroeville Literary Capital of Alabama

Monroeville Literary Capital of Alabama

By: McCoy, Kathy

Price: $12.00

Publisher: Charleston, Arcadia Publishing: 1998

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 9902


Pictorial wraps have only light, general wear. Book is square with a secure binding . ; Images of America; B&W Photographs and Post Cards; Large 8vo 9" - 10" tall; 127 pages; Pictures of Monroeville AL home of Harper Lee and sometime residence of Truman Capote. View more info